A new law cracking down on Utah teens who use their phones while driving goes into effect May 14.
House Bill 103 prohibits drivers up to 18 years old from talking on a cellphone while driving.
But there are exceptions – teens can use their phones to report a medical or safety hazard, report criminal activity, or to communicate with a parent or legal guardian.
If they are caught using their cellphones illegally, they could face a $25 fine.
This is one of several laws designed to protect new teen drivers. Previous laws include extra practice time, a passenger limitation, and a nighttime ban for new drivers.
“Cellphone use is the leading driver distraction in Utah,” said Sen. Lyle Hillyard, the sponsor of the bill. “This new cellphone law, coupled with the anti-texting law, will help keep driver distractions at a minimum, resulting in safer roads for all Utahns.”