Salt Lake County solicits feedback on proposed boundaries for townships, unincorporated areas

Posted at 6:14 PM, Jun 07, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-07 20:14:07-04

SALT LAKE COUNTY, Utah -- Salt Lake County wants feedback from residents in township areas, because come November, residents will have to decide whether they want to form a metropolitan township or an independent city.

The Salt Lake County Government Center was packed earlier this week, as residents came to a public hearing to discuss proposed boundaries for townships and unincorporated islands in the county.

The six townships are Emigration Canyon, Kearns, White City, Magna, Copperton and Millcreek. There are 44 unincorporated islands, including Willow Creek and Sandy Hills.

Salt Lake County Council Chairman Richard Snelgrove says they've got a plan, but it's up to the voters to make the decision.

“It's a good process, it's a healthy process, it's a transparent process, it's completely open,” he said. “So those--should residents choose to become part of the city and be annexed--that's their choice, that's their future. Self-determination: That's the order of the day."

Residents came to see the proposed boundaries and ask questions.

“Explain to me why my home would benefit from being Sandy City, or where it would not benefit,” one resident at the podium said.

County Council members say the plan would give residents the opportunity to choose how they'll manage the budget as well how they will handle planning and zoning decisions.

They encourage residents to do their homework.

“That’s a decision you'll have to make, based on your research and due diligence and in November, when it comes time to cast the vote, based upon research you have done, make the choice that you're most comfortable with," Snelgrove said.

For more information about townships, visit Salt Lake County’s website.