Five candidates for SLC mayor

Posted at 8:31 PM, Jun 08, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-08 22:31:41-04

SALT LAKE CITY — There are now five candidates for mayor of Utah’s capitol city.

The Salt Lake City Recorder’s Office posted the list of candidates as of Monday’s deadline for filing: Ralph Becker, seeking his third term as mayor; former Utah lawmaker Jackie Biskupski; city councilman Luke Garrott; George Chapman and Dave Robinson.

There are also five candidates for Salt Lake City’s Council District 4 (encompassing downtown and part of the west side): Miles Petty; Nate Salazar; Derek Kitchen; Jen Colby and Babs De Lay.

In Salt Lake City’s Council District 6, incumbent Charlie Luke is seeking reelection and being challenged by Tracey Harty; Van Turner is seeking his old council seat and facing a challenge from Andrew Johnston.