Utah Senate confirms medical marijuana board members

Posted at 9:41 AM, Jun 24, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-24 19:44:28-04

SALT LAKE CITY — The Utah State Senate has unanimously confirmed members of the Compassionate Use Board for medical cannabis.

They are the ones who will hear appeals by patients who aren’t on the list of conditions that qualify them to use medical cannabis. Patients who don’t have any of the conditions under the law will go before the board, who will decide if they can be recommended marijuana. They will also consider pediatric patients.

The board members include:

  • Dr. Joel Ehrenkranz
  • Dr. Ed Redd
  • Dr. Angelo Giardino
  • Dr. Nicholas Whipple
  • Dr. Megan Ward
  • Dr. Richard Segal
  • Dr. Colleen Marty

Utah voters approved Proposition 2, which legalized medical cannabis. It was replaced by the legislature, which created a state-run medical marijuana program set to launch next year. The Compassionate Use Board is a part of that program.

The Utah Patients Coalition, which sponsored Proposition 2, praised the board selection.

“The Department of Health has done a wonderful job choosing the new members of the Compassionate Use Board. Utah Patients Coalition has been allowed to actively watch the process and we are convinced that they have gone above and beyond to find the most qualified and compassionate doctors in Utah,” said the group’s executive director, Desiree Hennessy. “This board is crucial in getting patients that fall outside the qualifying conditions list and pediatric patients access to medical cannabis. We are excited to have them as allies helping Utah patients acquire the medication they desperately need.”