NewsCoronavirusLocal Coronavirus News


Latter-day Saint church to reopen 14 more temples on June 1

Vernal Utah Temple
Posted at 11:12 AM, May 25, 2020
and last updated 2020-05-25 13:12:47-04

SALT LAKE CITY — The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is adding 14 temples to those that are part of a phased reopening that began earlier this month.

According to a news release from the Latter-day Saint church, these 14 temples will reopen on June 1:

  • Adelaide Australia Temple
  • Albuquerque New Mexico Temple
  • Baton Rouge Louisiana Temple
  • Calgary Alberta Temple
  • Fukuoka Japan Temple
  • Melbourne Australia Temple
  • Nauvoo Illinois Temple
  • Perth Australia Temple
  • Raleigh North Carolina Temple
  • San Antonio Texas Temple
  • St. Louis Missouri Temple
  • Sydney Australia Temple
  • The Hague Netherlands Temple
  • Vernal Utah Temple

The other temples that have already reopened are listed below.

Reopened May 11:

  • Boise Idaho Temple
  • Bountiful Utah Temple
  • Brigham City Utah Temple
  • Cedar City Utah Temple
  • Frankfurt Germany Temple
  • Freiberg Germany Temple
  • Idaho Falls Idaho Temple
  • Logan Utah Temple
  • Manti Utah Temple
  • Monticello Utah Temple
  • Ogden Utah Temple
  • Oquirrh Mountain Utah Temple
  • Payson Utah Temple
  • Provo City Center Temple
  • Provo Utah Temple
  • Stockholm Sweden Temple
  • Twin Falls Idaho Temple

Reopened May 18:

  • Atlanta Georgia Temple
  • Billings Montana Temple
  • Birmingham Alabama Temple
  • Bismarck North Dakota Temple
  • Copenhagen Denmark Temple
  • Gilbert Arizona Temple
  • Jordan River Utah Temple
  • Memphis Tennessee Temple
  • Nashville Tennessee Temple
  • Phoenix Arizona Temple
  • Seoul Korea Temple
  • Snowflake Arizona Temple
  • Star Valley Wyoming Temple
  • Taipei Taiwan Temple
  • The Gila Valley Arizona Temple
  • Tucson Arizona Temple
  • Winter Quarters Nebraska Temple

Reopened May 25:

  • Anchorage Alaska Temple
  • Cardston Alberta Temple
  • Columbus Ohio Temple
  • Dallas Texas Temple
  • Denver Colorado Temple
  • Draper Utah Temple
  • Edmonton Alberta Temple
  • Fort Collins Colorado Temple
  • Helsinki Finland Temple
  • Houston Texas Temple
  • Kansas City Missouri Temple
  • Louisville Kentucky Temple
  • Mount Timpanogos Temple
  • Oklahoma City Oklahoma Temple
  • Orlando Florida Temple
  • Regina Saskatchewan Temple
  • St. Paul Minnesota Temple
  • Vancouver British Columbia Temple

During the first phase of temple reopenings, the Latter-day Saint church is allowing husband-and-wife living sealings (marriages) by appointment,

"These sealings will take place Monday through Saturday by appointment only and initially will be limited to one sealing ceremony or family at a time in the temple," the news release said. "All government and public health directives will be observed, including restrictions related to travel and crossing of state or other regional borders, and the use of safety equipment such as masks."