Regardless of whether your DUI is from drugs, alcohol, or legal medications, a first time offense comes with at least 48 hours in jail, a $700 .00 fine and a 120-day license suspension.
And, Personal Injury Attorney Craig Swapp says that's getting off easy compared to losing your life or taking someone else's because you decided to drive under the influence.
Swapp says every year in Utah, we lose about 40 people to accidents that involve alcohol. Many of them are innocent people hit by drunk drivers, while the remainder are people who make the terrible choice to drink and drive.
The state of Utah has the lowest BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in the U.S. for issuing a DUI. Currently it is a 0.05%. That means that just after one or two beers, most people will be at or above the legal limit.
Bordering states that have legalized the use of marijuana -- Colorado and Nevada - have seen quite a number of DUI's since legislation, according to Swapp.
Swapp also says prescription and over-the-counter medication can also qualify as driving under the influence.
Bottom line, if you've been drinking or consuming drugs, don't get behind the wheel. If you are involved in an accident with a drunk or drugged driver, call Craig Swapp & Associates at 1-800-404-9000 or find them online at craigswapp.com.
During the outbreak, Craig Swapp & Associates are working to help you. Their team has adjusting to serving their clients through phone calls or electronically... they're still there for anyone who needs them.