American Pharoah wins Preakness Stakes, has a shot at Triple Crown

Posted at 4:39 PM, May 16, 2015
and last updated 2015-05-16 18:41:43-04

(CNN) — Kentucky Derby winner American Pharoah has won the 140th running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore. With a win at the Belmont Stakes in New York on June 6th, American Pharoah would be the first horse since Affirmed in 1978 to win horse racing’s Triple Crown.

See the “fast facts” article below for more information about the Triple Crown and the three races it consists of:

(CNN) — Here’s a look at horse racing’s Triple Crown. The three races in the Triple Crown are the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes.

Facts: A horse must win all three races to achieve the Triple Crown.

There have been 11 Triple Crown winners: – 1919 Sir Barton – 1930 Gallant Fox – 1935 Omaha – 1937 War Admiral – 1941 Whirlaway – 1943 Count Fleet – 1946 Assault – 1948 Citation – 1973 Secretariat – 1977 Seattle Slew – 1978 Affirmed

Since 1990, there have been nine instances where horses have won the first two of the three legs of the Triple Crown: Silver Charm in 1997, Real Quiet in 1998, Charismatic in 1999, War Emblem in 2002, Funny Cide in 2003, Smarty Jones in 2004, Big Brown in 2008, I’ll Have Another in 2012 and California Chrome in 2014.

Rosie Napravnik, in 2013, became the first female jockey to ride in all three Triple Crown races.

Kentucky Derby: The Kentucky Derby is run annually on the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs in Louisville, Kentucky.

The Derby is 1.25 miles in length.

The age limit for horses in the Derby is three years.

The winner is given a blanket of roses, so the race is also known as the “run for the roses.”

1875 – The Kentucky Derby is established.

May 2, 2015 – American Pharoah wins the 141st Kentucky Derby.

Preakness Stakes: The Preakness is traditionally run the third Saturday in May at Pimlico in Baltimore, Maryland.

The Preakness is 1 and 3/16 miles in length.

The winner is covered by a blanket of black-eyed Susans.

May 27, 1873 – The first Preakness Stakes is run.

1890-1909 – The Preakness is run at Gravesend Track in Brooklyn, New York.

May 17, 2014 – California Chrome wins the 139th Preakness Stakes.

Belmont Stakes: The Belmont Stakes is generally run on the first or second Saturday in June at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York.

The longest of the three triple crown races at 1.5 miles; often referred to as the “Test of the Champion.”

Secretariat set a world record at the race that still stands for the mile and a half distance on a dirt track at 2:24.

The winner of the race is given a blanket made of between 300-400 white carnations, the traditional flower of the Belmont Stakes.

The Belmont Stakes is the oldest of the Triple Crown events. It began in 1867 at Jerome Park, New York.

June 7, 2014 – Tonalist wins the 146th Belmont Stakes. California Chrome, the favorite, comes in fourth.

™ & © 2015 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.