The Place


Grammy-nominated violinist performs music from her new album

Posted at 2:40 PM, Mar 05, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-05 16:47:04-05

She's been called "America's Violinist," and she lives right here in Utah: Jenny Oaks Baker. Today she performed music from her new album, "Epic."

The grammy-nominated artist - who is also the daughter of Dallin H. Oaks (1st counselor in the presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints) - is releasing the 11-track album on Friday, March 6, 2020, The Place viewers got a special sneak preview!

EPIC is described as "an incredible collection of popular themes from the stage and silver screen." Baker chose songs with beloved melodies that epitomize her captivating and transcendent style. Her virtuosic violin
playing shines on "Across the Stars" from Star Wars: Attack of the Clones, and her deep musicality is
undeniable on the haunting tune "In Dreams" from The Lord of the Rings.

Full listing:
1. In Dreams - 'Lord of the Rings' (Howard Shore)
2. Across the Stars - 'Star Wars: Attack of the Clones' (John Williams)
3. Hedwig`s Theme - 'Harry Potter and the Sorcerer`s Stone' (John Williams)
4. Kingsfold (If You Could Hie to Kolob)
5. Defying Gravity
6. Bring Him Home - Les Miserables
7. Never Enough - The Greatest Showman
8. Rolling In The Deep - Adele
9. A Mighty Fortress Is Our God
10. Chariots of Fire - Vangelis
11. Rachmaninoff: Rhapsody on a theme by Paganini

The album was arranged by beloved Utah musician, Kurt Bestor, and will be available at Deseret Book and other LDS bookstores, as well as Amazon, iTunes, Spotify and Pandora. In addition, Baker offers personalized
copies on her website at

Baker will be performing works from the album in several concerts over the coming months in Arizona, California and Pennsylvania. For more information on "EPIC," Baker's other works, and upcoming concerts, visit