Sports

Actions

Utes to begin football season at Washington State after Pac-12 releases reworked schedule

USU, BYU schedules also affected
Utes run past UCLA
Posted at 3:21 PM, Jul 31, 2020
and last updated 2020-07-31 17:21:35-04

SALT LAKE CITY — The University of Utah has a whole new schedule of football games this coming season.

The Pac-12 Conference released a reworked schedule on Friday. The conference announced July 10 that its fall sports teams would only play in-conference due to COVID-19 concerns.

The Utes were set to begin their season Sept. 3 with the annual rivalry matchup against Brigham Young University, followed by non-conference games against Montana State and Wyoming, before beginning conference play at California Sept. 26.

Now, the Utes' season begins Sept. 26 at Washington State.

Here is their full schedule:
-Sat., Sept. 26: Away at Washington State
-Sat., Oct. 3: Away at Colorado
-Sat., Oct. 10: Home vs. Oregon State
-Fri., Oct. 16: Away at UCLA
-Sat., Oct. 31: Home vs. Arizona
-Sat., Nov. 7: Away at Arizona State
-Sat., Nov. 14: Home vs. Washington
-Sat., Nov. 21: Away at California
-Fri., Nov. 27: Home vs. USC
-Sat., Dec. 5: Home vs. Oregon

The Pac-12's decision to play in-conference only has also affected Utah State University's schedule as the Aggies were scheduled to play at home against Washington State on Sept. 3 and away at Washington on Sept. 19.

USU will still host Southern Utah University on Sept. 12 and will face BYU in Provo on Oct. 2 as the Mountain West Conference has not announced a change to in-conference only.

BYU will be affected even more so as the Big Ten and SEC conferences have also announced they will play in-conference only. The Cougars, who are not members of any conference, will be forced to drop scheduled games against Utah, Michigan State, Arizona State, Minnesota, Missouri and Stanford.