Warnings and restrictions: Fireworks for July 4 & Pioneer Day

Posted at 12:21 PM, Jun 29, 2015
and last updated 2015-06-30 16:58:57-04
Firework restrictions 2015

Areas under firework restrictions for July 4, Pioneer Day

We are just a few days away from celebrating our freedom and that means it’s almost time to set off fireworks.

But before you do, experts have a warning for Utahns.

Restrictions: Check here if fireworks are banned or restricted in your area

Although fireworks are for sale right now, residents cannot set them off until July 1 to July 7.

After July 4, fireworks are allowed again for Pioneer Day from July 21 to July 27.

On July 4 and July 24, Utahns can set off fireworks from 11 a.m. to midnight.

Experts say keep a fire extinguisher and bucket of water handy when putting on the light shows.

Also, always read the directions and be sure to stand several feet away from the lit explosives.

Authorities are asking residents to abide by they area’s restrictions and safety guidelines.

MORE: Click here to see your area’s firework restrictions

July fireworks graphic

Utah Firework Restrictions (Info from Utah Dept. of Public Safety):

Utah State Forester Statewide Restrictions

BLM Lands, U.S. Forest Service, National Park Service Restrictions

Bountiful Map

Brigham City Restrictions and Map

Bryce Canyon City Restrictions

Centerville –  Map

Cottonwood Heights – City Code Title 9 & 14, Ordinance 191

Daggett County Fire & Fireworks – Resolution

Draper –Ordinance and Sky Lantern Amendment

Eagle Mountain – Resolution

Enoch – Ordinance

Fruit Heights – Restrictions and Map

Henefer – The Council has also banned all fireworks, and open fires within city limits. A resolution was passed on June 28, for as long as the fire danger is high.

Holladay – Ordinance

Layton – Fireworks Restrictions and Map

Moab  – Resolution

Murray –  Ordinance

Myton – Resolution

North Salt Lake – Map

North View – See Weber Fire District

Ogden – See Weber Fire District

Orem –  Map

Park City – Ordinance

Payson – Ordinance and Map

Pleasant Grove – Resolution and Map

Plymouth – Ordinance

Provo – Fire and Fireworks Restrictions – In addition to these restrictions, fireworks are not allowed anywhere on the BYU Campus.

Rich County – Rich County and ALL of the incorporated towns within Rich county have passed a complete & TOTAL fire & fireworks prohibited resolution. We ask for support in prohibiting fires & fireworks on state lands within Rich County until further notice.

Riverdale – Ordinance and Map

Roy – Ordinance

Salem – Ordinance

Salina – Ordinance

Salt Lake City (See Salt Lake City website for latest restrictions – Link)

Sandy Ordinance, Map

Santaquin – Ordinance

Saratoga Springs – Ordinance

South Jordan – Resolution R2015-49, Jordan River Map, Bingham Creek Map

South Ogden – (See Weber Fire District)

South Weber – Map

Spanish Fork – Ordinance

Springville – Restrictions and Map

St. George –Ordinance & Map

Taylorsville – Ordinance

Unified Fire Authority Restrictions and Interactive Map

Uintah – (See Weber Fire District)

Vernal – Ordinance

Washington Terrace – Restriction Zone

Washington County –

Courtesy of Washington County

Courtesy of Washington County

Weber Fire District – Restrictions and Map

West Jordan – Restrictions 2015 and Map (All) , (Jordan River Map), (Bingham Creek Map), (Clay Hollow Map)

West Valley – Restrictions