Fireworks restrictions approved in parts of unincorpated Salt Lake County

Posted at 9:45 PM, Jun 03, 2014

SALT LAKE CITY — The Salt Lake County Council approved fireworks restrictions in parts of unincorporated townships in Salt Lake County Tuesday.

This was a recommendation by the Unified Fire Authority.

Mayor Ben McAdams said this is the first year the county council has the authority to establish fire restrictions for unincorporated Salt Lake County as a preventative measure to ensure the safety of county residents.

The mayor and UFA Chief Michael Jensen worked to have legislation passed this year that gives the county council authority to put fire safety measures in place as quickly as possible.

“Salt Lake County is the shortest path to understanding the fire danger in unincorporated county townships,” McAdams said. “The revised law allows for swifter preventative action during the dangerous fire seasons.”

A map of the fire restricted areas can be found on the Unified Fire Authority website.