CommunitySeen on TV


Info: Two Utah Post Offices to Offer Extended Collection Times to Income Tax Filers on April 18

Posted at 11:55 AM, Apr 18, 2016
and last updated 2016-04-18 13:55:29-04

The following is a news release from the United States Postal Service.

SALT LAKE CITY — Two Utah Post Offices will provide extended collections of mail on April 18, to assist tax filers. In addition, 31 Post Offices have Self-Service Kiosks, which are available 24/7 (see list of locations below). Customers who print a mailing label before midnight at a Self-Service Kiosk will receive an April 18 postmark. The Kiosks accept only debit and credit cards.

Customers who drop off their tax returns at the following locations by the designated time will receive an April 18 Postmark:

  • Salt Lake Main Post Office, 1760 West 2100 South, drop in collection box by 8:15 p.m.
  • Provo East Bay Post Office, 936 South 250 East, drop in collection box by 8:30 p.m.

Retail hours at Post Offices across the state will not be extended on April 18. Stamps can always be purchased through Self-Service Kiosks, and alternate locations, such as grocery stores and ATMs.

Customers are encouraged to mail their tax returns early in the day, and check the collection times on each box to ensure pick up on April 18.

Correct postage is a must. First-Class letter-size postage is 47 cents for the first ounce and 21 cents for each additional ounce. If you use a larger envelope, First Class postage is 94 cents for the first ounce and 21 cents for each additional ounce. Customers wanting certification that their tax forms are received by the IRS, should mail them using Certified Mail Service.

The following Post Offices have Self-Service Kiosks. Customers using Credit or Debit cards & requesting a mail label will receive an April 18 postmark if the label is printed before midnight.

American Fork Post Office

55 Merchant St.

Bountiful Post Office

20 S. Main

Cedar City

333 N. Main St.

Draper Post Office

12180 S. 300 East

Layton Post Office

1123 N. Fairfield Rd.

Lehi Post Office

333 E. Main St.

Logan Post Office

75 W. 200 North

Ogden Ben Lomond Branch

221 N. Washington Blvd.

Ogden Mount Ogden Station

1145 E. 4600 South

Orem Main Post Office

222 W. Center

Orem Mountain Shadows

877 E. 1200 South

Pleasant Grove Post Office

180 S. 100 West

Provo East Bay

936 S. 250 East

Provo Main Post Office

95 W. 100 South

Riverton Post Office

12760 S Park Ave

Roy Post Office

4879 S. 1900 West.

South Jordan Post Office

10102 S. Redwood Rd.

St. George Red Rocks Main Office

1150 E. Riverside Dr.

St. George Downtown

180 N. Main

Salt Lake City Cottonwood Branch

6890 S. 2300 East

Salt Lake City Downtown Station

230 W. 200 South

Salt Lake City Foothill Station

2255 Sunnyside Ave.

Salt Lake City Kearns Branch

5495 S. 4015 West

Salt Lake City Main Office

1760 W. 2100 South

Salt Lake City Millcreek Branch

3350 S. 2940 East

Salt Lake City Murray Branch

4989 S. State

Salt Lake City Sugarhouse Station

1953 S. 1100 East

Salt Lake City West Valley Branch

3490 S. 4400 West

Sandy Alta Canyon Station

9265 S Highland Dr

Sandy Main Post Office

8850 S. 700 East

West Jordan Post Office

7901 S. 3200 West

The Postal Service receives no tax dollars for operating expenses and relies on the sale of postage, products and services to fund its operations.